House, Senate name budget conference committee appointees

General Assembly - Raleigh - May 2020
N.C. General Assembly as seen from the grounds of the Capitol building. (A.P. Dillon, North State Journal)

RALEIGH – The N.C. House and Senate have named the legislators who will negotiate the final version of the legislature’s budget.

The House named its three appropriations chairs, state Reps. Dean Arp (R-Union), Donny Lambeth (R-Forsyth), and Jason Saine (R-Lincoln) and 25 additional Republican representatives, including House Majority Leader John Bell (R-Wayne) and House Rules chair Destin Hall (R-Caldwell).

The House appointees also include the nine Democrats who joined the Republican majority to approve its budget: state Reps. Cecil Brockman (Guilford), Brian Farkas (Pitt), Charles Graham (Robeson), Howard Hunter (Hertford), Marvin Lucas (Cumberland), Garland Pierce (Scotland), Billy Richardson (Cumberland), Shelly Willingham (Edgecombe), Michael Wray (Durham).

The Senate named its appropriations chair, state Sen. Brent Jackson (R-Sampson), and 19 additional Republican senators, including Senate Majority Leader Kathy Harrington (R-Gaston) and Senate Rules chair Bill Rabon (R-Brunswick). The Senate appointees also include four Democrats, Ben Clark (Cumberland), Don Davis (Pitt), Kirk deViere (Cumberland) and Paul Lowe (Forsyth).