Dale Folwell wins reelection as NC Treasurer

Dale Folwell won re-election to the State Treasurer office.

Incumbent Republican Dale R. Folwell has defeated Democratic challenger Ronnie Chatterji to win a second term as North Carolina treasurer.

With 2,601 of the state’s 2,662 precincts reporting, Folwell had received 52.6% of the vote to 47.4% for Chatterji.

Folwell, a former Republican member of the N.C. House of Representatives where he represented District 74 from 2005-2013 and served as Speaker Pro Tempore, won election in 2016 by a similar margin over Democrat Dan Blue III.

Chatterji, the Democrat challenger, is an economist who serves as a professor at Duke University’s Fuqua School of Business and Sanford School of Public Policy. He served in the Obama administration.