Deondre Francois, Dexter Lawrence win ACC Rookie of Year

Clemson DL from Wake Forest wins defensive honors

Melina Vastola—X02835
Nov 26

The Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association (ACSMA) announced the ACC Rookie of the Year awards on Tuesday.Florida State quarterback Deondre Francois won Rookie of the Year and Offensive Rookie of the Year, winning by a large margin over Duke quarterback Daniel Jones. Francois earned the vote for Offensive Rookie on 30 of the 48 ballots cast. Jones tied Miami wide receiver Ahmonn Richards for second with eight votes. Georgia Tech’s Dedrick Mills received the final two votes. Defensive Rookie of the Year was won by Clemson defensive lineman and former Wake Forest High standout Dexter Lawrence. Lawrence received 23 votes for Defensive Rookie, ahead of Wake Forest’s Jessie Bates (8), Duke’s Joe Giles-Harris (8), Miami’s Shaquille Quarterman (5), Florida State’s Brian Burns (3) and Miami’s Joe Jackson (1). Francois beat out Lawrence for overall Rookie of the Year by a 25-7 margin. Duke’s Jones also received seven votes. Francois had 3,128 yards passing — the fourth-highest total ever by an ACC freshman — and 18 touchdowns this season. He won Offensive Back of the Week once and was named ACC Rookie of the Week four times.Jones also earned four Rookie of the Week honors. It’s the most Rookie of the Week honors won by a player who did not earn Rookie of the Year in the last decade. Every other rookie to be honored as often: FSU’s Jameis Winston (6 in 2013), Miami’s Duke Johnson (5 in 2012), Clemson’s Sammy Watkins (4 in 2011), Maryland’s Danny O’Brien (5 in 2010), Virginia Tech’s Ryan Williams (7 in 2009), Wake’ss Josh Adams (4 in 2007) were named Rookie of the Year.