Mixed results for Forsyth County incumbents on primary night

North State Journal 2022 election coverage

With 5% of precincts reporting and about 11% of ballots counted in the county, early results saw more support for runners up in statewide elections.

Kyle Hall, who garnered 85% of the votes cast statewide in the Republican primary for the NC House of Representatives District 91 race, saw Forsyth County voters give him just 71% of the vote, with James Douglas (17%) and Stephen James (12%) running much better than their overall state percentages.

Similarly, in the Republican senate primary, Ted Budd got 54% of the Forsyth vote, about five percentage points below his statewide margin. Former governor Pat McCrory, who finished second in the primary, matched his state numbers, while third-place Mark Walker (17%) did almost twice as well in Forsyth.

Two local races appeared close to being settled early. Incumbent Denise Hines got almost 57% of the vote, outdistancing Tina Flowers (36%) and John Snow (6%) in the Democratic primary for Forsyth County Clerk of Superior Court.

In the Democratic primary for Forsyth County Board of Commissioners, at-large seat, Don Besse topped incumbent Ted Kaplan by a 62-38% margin. Besse will face Republican Terri Mrazek in the general election.

Things were much tighter in the Forsyth County Board of Commissioners District A Democratic primary. With two spots available, Tonya D. McDaniel held the lead with 27.65% of the vote, but fewer than 40 votes separated Fleming A. El-Amin (23.54%) and Shai Woodbury (23.12%) for the second spot.