8 NC Schools awarded National Blue Ribbon

State Superintendent Catherine Truitt (left) listens during a recent visit to an elementary school. Photo via NC Dept. of Public Instruction

RALEIGH — Eight North Carolina K-12 schools have been named National Blue Ribbon schools for 2021 by the U.S. Department of Education.

The eight schools fall into one of two categories, exemplary high-performing schools and exemplary achievement-gap closing schools.

Schools named exemplary high-performing were:

Schools named Exemplary High Performing:

  • Pender Early College High School, Pender County Schools
  • Pearsontown Elementary School, Durham Public Schools
  • Elkin Middle School, Elkin City Schools
  • Brush Creek Elementary School, Madison County Schools
  • Union Elementary School, Lincoln County Schools

Schools named exemplary achievement-gap closing were:

  • Blue Ridge Elementary School, Ashe County Schools
  • Sallie B. Howard Charter School, Wilson
  • Sampson Early College High School, Sampson County Schools

In a press release, North Carolina State Superintendent Catherine Truitt congratulated the schools for “aiming high even during the unavoidable disruptions” and “challenges of last year and setting a high bar for all students while also providing strong support.”

“These schools – their leaders, teachers and students – deserve our praise for creating cultures that truly support teaching and learning,” Truitt said. “They exemplify what’s best about public education in North Carolina, and I’m thrilled to see these schools recognized for their efforts.”

About A.P. Dillon 1293 Articles
A.P. Dillon is a North State Journal reporter located near Raleigh, North Carolina. Find her on Twitter: @APDillon_