Big South moving forward with spring football season

Five teams, including Gardner-Webb, will play a four-game conference schedule with as many as four nonconference games starting next month

The Big South Conference on Monday reaffirmed its decision to conduct a 2021 spring football season for the five members that committed their intentions to play a spring schedule.

The teams competing are Charleston Southern, Gardner-Webb, Kennesaw State, Monmouth and Robert Morris. Campbell, which played four nonconference games this fall — all against FBS opponents — has decided not to play a spring schedule.

Each team will play a four-game league schedule with up to four nonconference games beginning next month. The league champion will represent the Big South in the NCAA Division I Football playoffs, scheduled to start on April 24.

The Big South will conduct its spring football season in accordance with conference and the NCAA’s Return to Competition COVID-19 Guidelines to ensure the safety of all participants.