Brian Farkas wins NC House District 9

Incumbent Perrin Jones is defeated

RALEIGH — Democratic challenger Brian Farkas has won Pitt County’s N.C. House District 9 over Republican incumbent Rep. Perrin Jones with 18,949 votes to Jones’ 18,135.

Farkas is an architect and native of Pitt County who ran unsuccessfully against now-U.S. Rep. Greg Murphy in 2016 when the seat wasn’t as competitively drawn. Jones is an anesthesiologist who was appointed in September 2019 when Murphy vacated the seat to ascend to the U.S. Congress.