Barringer wins seat on N.C. Supreme Court

Former State Sen. Tamara Barringer won election to the N.C. Supreme Court

RALEIGH — In the N.C. Supreme Court race between appointed Democratic incumbent Justice Mark Davis and Republican Tamara Barringer, Barringer defeated Davis by over 130,000 votes to win an eight-year term on the court.

Barringer, a former state Sen. from Wake County, lost her seat in the General Assembly in 2018.

Republicans will hold at least two seats on the court, with victories by Barringer and N.C. Court of Appeals Judge Phil Berger Jr. The contest for Chief Justice between current Chief Justice Cheri Beasley and Justice Paul Newby is separated by less than 4,000 votes.