Seedings, game times set for ACC baseball tournament

NC State, UNC and Duke are in different pools for next week's tournament at Durham Bulls Athletic Park

Christine T. Nguyen—North State Journal
The ACC baseball tournament starts Tuesday at the Durham Bulls Athletic Park (Christine T. Nguyen/North State Journal)

  With the final games of the regular season having been played Saturday, seedings for the ACC baseball tournament have been set, with NC State, North Carolina and Duke all assigned to different pool play groups.

  The tournament will run from Tuesday through Sunday at Durham Bulls Athletic Park.

  The third seeded Wolfpack is in Pool C along with No. 6 Florida State and No. 10, the fifth seeded Tar Heels are in Pool D with No. 4 Miami and No. 9 Virginia while the seventh-seeded Blue Devils are in Pool B with No. 2 Georgia Tech and No. 11 Notre Dame.   

  Pool A consists of top-seeded and regular season champion Louisville, No. 8 Clemson and No. 12 Boston College.

  Each team will play games against the other two members of their pool from Tuesday through Friday, with the top team in each grouping advancing to Saturday’s semifinals. The championship game will be played at noon next Sunday with television coverage on ESPN2.

   Duke, playing on its home field, and Wake Forest will be the first members of the Big Four to take the field, with the Deacons facing Florida State at 3 p.m. and the Blue Devils meeting Notre Dame a 7 p.m.  Duke will play its other pool game on Friday at 11 a.m. against Georgia Tech.

   UNC opens up on Wednesday in the 7 p.m. game against Virginia before taking on Miami at 3 p.m. on Friday. NC State will play Wake Forest in the 7 p.m. game on Thursday and Florida State in the 7 p.m. game on Friday.

  The entire tournament will be available on the ACC Network, with traditional television coverage through the semifinals on Fox Sports Carolinas.

  Tickets are available by calling 919.956.Bull (2855), ext.3, or online at

May 21-26 at Durham Bulls Athletic Park, Durham, N.C.
Tuesday, May 21
No. 12 Boston College vs. No. 8 Clemson, 11 a.m. (RSN/ACCN Extra)
No. 10 Wake Forest vs. No. 6 Florida State, 3 p.m. (RSN/ACCN Extra)
No. 11 Notre Dame vs. No. 7 Duke, 7 p.m. (RSN/ACCN Extra)
Wednesday, May 22
No. 1 Louisville vs. No. 12 Boston College, 11 a.m. (RSN/ACCN Extra)
No. 2 Georgia Tech vs. No. 11 Notre Dame, 3 p.m. (RSN/ACCN Extra)
No. 9 Virginia vs. No. 5 North Carolina, 7 p.m. (RSN/ACCN Extra)
Thursday, May 23
No. 8 Clemson vs. No. 1 Louisville, 11 a.m. (RSN/ACCN Extra)
No. 4 Miami vs. No. 9 Virginia, 3 p.m. (RSN/ACCN Extra)
No. 3 NC State vs. No. 10 Wake Forest, 7 p.m. (RSN/ACCN Extra)
Friday, May 24
No. 7 Duke vs. No. 2 Georgia Tech, 11 a.m. (RSN/ACCN Extra)
No. 5 North Carolina vs. No. 4 Miami, 3 p.m. (RSN/ACCN Extra)
No. 6 Florida State vs. No. 3 NC State, 7 p.m. (RSN/ACCN Extra)
Saturday, May 25
Pool A Winner vs. Pool D Winner, 1 p.m. (RSN/ACCN Extra)
Pool B Winner vs. Pool C Winner, 5 p.m. (RSN/ACCN Extra)
Sunday, May 26
ACC Championship, Noon (ESPN2)