N.C. congressional primary election results

Voters cast their primary ballot in north Raleigh on May 8, 2018. North State Journal.

Raleigh – In Tuesday’s midterm primary elections incumbent Robert Pittenger in the ninth Congressional District was upset by Republican challenger Mark Harris.  Harris will face Democrat Dan McCready who won his primary with 82 percent of the vote. Pittenger was the only congressional incumbent in N.C. to be upset in the primary election.

In District two, Congressman George Holding will face Democrat Linda Coleman in November. In District three, incumbent Walter Jones won his primary by fourteen points over second place finisher Phil Law and third place Scott Dacey.  He will not have a democrat challenger in November.

In District four incumbent David Price, a democrat, won 77 percent of the vote in his primary and will face Republican Barbara Howe in November. In the fifth district, incumbent Congresswoman Virginia Foxx won her primary with eighty percent of the vote and will face Democrat DD Adams.

In District six, Democrat Ryan Watts will challenge incumbent Congressman Mark Walker, and in District seven, Democrat Kyle Horton will challenge incumbent Congressman Republican Rep. David Rouzer.  In district eight, Democrat Frank McNeill will challenge incumbent Congressman Richard Hudson.

In District ten, incumbent Congressman Patrick McHenry won more than seventy percent of the vote over five primary challengers.  In District 11, incumbent Congressman Mark Meadows won his primary with more than eighty percent of the vote and will face Democrat Phillip Price in November.

In District 12, incumbent Democrat Congresswoman Alma Adams won her primary by more than eighty percent of the vote and will face Paul Wright who beat three Republican candidates in the primary. In District 13, Democrat Kathy Manning will challenge first-term Republican Congressman Ted Budd.