NC State adds three new opponents to future football schedules

The Wolfpack is now locked in to play at least one Power 5 opponent every season through 2031

NC State players take the field for their season opening game against South Carolina last September (Jim Dedmon/USA TODAY Sports)

NC State added three more opponents to its future football schedules by announcing games against South Florida, Louisiana Tech and Brigham Young.

The Wolfpack will play a home-and-home series against USF, with the Bulls coming to Carter-Finley Stadium in 2021 before playing again in Tampa in 2024. State is 2-1 all-time against USF, having met once each on the other’s home field in addition to a matchup at the 2005 Meineke Car Care Bowl in Charlotte.

State will play three times against Louisiana Tech, with home games set for 2021 and 2024. The Wolfpack will travel to Ruston, La., for a return matchup in 2025. State won the only previous meeting between the teams, 40-14 in Dave Doeren’s coaching debut in 2013.

The Wolfpack has never previously played BYU, but that will change in 2024 when the Cougars come to Raleigh. State will then play its first-ever game in Utah six years later in 2030. Although BYU is an independent, it is considered a Power 5 school, meaning that State has now scheduled at least one nonconference game against a P5 opponent every season through 2031.

  Here is a list the Wolfpack’s future nonconference schedules:

  ◼ 2018: 9/1 James Madison, 9/8 Georgia State, 9/15 West Virginia, 9/22 at Marshall

  ◼ 2019: 8/31 ECU, 9/7 Western Carolina, 9/14 at West Virginia, 9/21 Ball State

  ◼ 2020: 9/12 Mississippi State, 9/19 at Troy, 9/26 Delaware, 11/21 Liberty

  ◼ 2021: 9/2 South Florida, 9/11 at Mississippi State, 10/2 Louisiana Tech, Furman

  ◼ 2022: 9/3 at ECU, 9/10 Charleston Southern, 9/17 Texas Tech, 9/24 UConn

  ◼ 2023: 9/2 VMI, 9/23 at UConn, Notre Dame

  ◼ 2024: 8/31 Western Carolina, 9/7 Louisiana Tech, 9/14 at South Florida, 11/9 BYU

  ◼ 2025: 9/6  at Louisiana Tech, at Notre Dame

  ◼ 2026; 9/19 at Vanderbilt

  ◼ 2027: 9/18 at Texas Tech

  ◼ 2028: Vanderbilt

  ◼ 2029: Notre Dame

  ◼ 2030: 8/29 at BYU

  ◼ 2031: at Notre Dame