UNCs Bukauskas named ACC Pitcher of Year, McGee top freshman

In addition to the individual awards, the Tar Heels placed four players on the All-ACC first team. Combined with Wake Forest, the two state schools accounted for seven of the 16 players honored as the conferences best

Joe Bray/UNC Athletic Communications photo—Joe Bray/UNC Athletic Communications photo
J.B. Bukauskas posted an 9-0 record with 111 strikeouts in 89 innings and a conference best 2.02 earned run average to become the fourth UNC player to earn ACC Pitcher of the Year honors

J.B. Bukauskas continued North Carolina’s tradition of strong starting pitching Monday by becoming the fourth Tar Heel to be named the ACC’s Pitcher of the Year since the award was instituted in 2005.The junior right-hander was a perfect 8-0 during the regular season while helping UNC to a school-record 23 conference victories and the No. 2 seed in this week’s ACC tournament in Louisville. He joins Andrew Miller (2006), Alex White (2008) and Kent Emanuel (2013) as the Tar Heels named as the league’s top pitcher.UNC also boasts the ACC’s top freshman this season in designated hitter Ashton McGee, who was voted as the conference Rookie of the Year after hitting a team-leading .339 with six homers and 39 RBi in his first college season.In addition to the individual awards, the Tar Heels placed four players on the All-ACC first team. Combined with Wake Forest, which got three selections, the two state schools accounted for seven of the 16 players honored as the conference’s best.UNC’s first-team representatives are Bukauskas, shortstop Logan Warmoth, outfielder Brian Miller and relief pitcher Josh Hiatt. The three Deacons are first baseman Gavin Sheets, outfielder Stuart Fairchild and catcher Ben Breazeale.Wake, which set a school record for ACC wins in a season with 19 and will be the No. 3 seed in the upcoming conference tourney, also had five players voted onto the All-ACC second team — second baseman Jake Mueller, third baseman Johnny Aiello, starting pitchers Parker Dunshee and Connor Johnstone and reliever Griffin Roberts. Outfielder Jonathan Pryor was named to the third team.The only other Tar Heel to gain All-ACC designation was third-team pick Gianluca Dalatri, a freshman starting pitcher.NC State’s All-ACC picks are second team shortstop Joe Dunand and third team DH Brad Debo. Griffin Conine, a second team outfielder, was Duke’s only selection.UNC and State also had multiple players chosen to the ACC’s All-Freshman team, with McGee and Dalatri earning recognition from the Tar Heels along with the Wolfpack trio of Debo, second baseman Will Wilson and starting pitcher Michael Bienlein.Louisville’s two-way star Brendan McKay, who hit .361 with 15 home runs while going 8.3 with a 2.22 ERA on the mound, is the ACC’s Player of the Year. Cardinals’ coach Dan McDonnell was named the league’s Coach of the Year — an award he’s won in each of the three seasons his team has been a member of the conference.Here is the full list of postseason ACC baseball honors:Player of the YearBrendan McKay, LouisvillePitcher of the YearJ.B. Bukauskas, North CarolinaDefensive Player of the YearDevin Hairston, LouisvilleFreshman of the YearAshton McGee, North CarolinaCoach of the YearDan McDonnell, Louisville2017 All-ACC Baseball TeamsFirst TeamC – Ben Breazeale, Wake Forest1B – Pavin Smith, Virginia1B – Gavin Sheets, Wake Forest2B – Wade Bailey, Georgia Tech3B – Drew Ellis, LouisvilleSS – Logan Warmoth, North CarolinaOF – Brian Miller, North CarolinaOF – Adam Haseley, VirginiaOF – Stuart Fairchild, Wake ForestOF – Reed Rohlman, ClemsonDH/UT – Brendan McKay, LouisvilleSP – Tyler Holton, Florida StateSP – Brendan McKay, LouisvilleSP – J.B. Bukauskas, North CarolinaRP – Lincoln Henzman, LouisvilleRP – Josh Hiatt, North CarolinaSecond TeamC – Joey Bart, Georgia TechC – Colby Fitch, Louisville1B – Sam Fragale, Virginia Tech2B – Jake Mueller, Wake Forest3B – Johnny Aiello, Wake ForestSS – Joe Dunand, NC StateOF – Seth Beer, ClemsonOF – Griffin Conine, DukeOF – Cameron Simmons, VirginiaOF – Tom Stoffel, Virginia TechDH/UT – Quincy Nieporte, Florida StateSP – Pat Krall, ClemsonSP – Jeb Bargfeldt, MiamiSP – Parker Dunshee, Wake ForestSP – Connor Johnstone, Wake ForestRP – Griffin Roberts, Wake ForestThird TeamC – Robbie Coman, Virginia1B – Andrew Cox, Clemson2B – Jack Owens, Virginia Tech3B – Dylan Busby, Florida State3B – Trevor Craport, Georgia TechSS – Devin Hairston, LouisvilleSS – Ernie Clement, VirginiaOF – Chase Pinder, ClemsonOF – Matt Vierling, Notre DameOF – Jonathan Pryor, Wake ForestDH/UT – Brad Debo, NC StateSP – Charlie Barnes, ClemsonSP – Kade McClure, LouisvilleSP – Nick Bennett, LouisvilleSP – Gianluca Dalatri, North CarolinaRP – Tommy Doyle, VirginiaAll-Freshman TeamSS – Logan Davidson, ClemsonOF – J.C. Flowers, Florida State1B – Drew Mendoza, Florida StateSS – Austin Wilhite, Georgia TechSP – Nick Bennett, LouisvilleSP – Gianluca Dalatri, North CarolinaDH/UT – Ashton McGee, North CarolinaSP – Michael Bienlien, NC StateDH/UT – Brad Debo, NC State2B – Will Wilson, NC State2B – Alex Amos, PittsburghSP – Noah Murdock, Virginia