N.C. Senate announces remaining key committee assignments

Madeline Gray—North State Journal
Senator Phil Berger addresses the Senate after being elected as President Pro Tempore during the opening day of the 2017 legislative session on Wednesday

RALEIGH — In a press release Tuesday morning, Senate Leader Phil Berger (R-Rockingham) announced the leadership and committee members of the N.C. Senate’s standing committees. The announcement comes a week before the N.C. General Assembly reconvenes for the long session. “The North Carolina Senate is fortunate to have members committed to good government with a focus on reducing the tax burden on working families, improving our state’s business climate and strengthening public education,” said Berger in a statement. “I appreciate the willingness of senators in both parties to work hard in these committees on policies that will help our state continue to thrive.”Education/Higher Education:Chairs: Chad Barefoot, David Curtis, Michael LeeMembers: Deanna Ballard, Tamara Barringer, Bill Cook, Don Davis, Cathy Dunn, Chuck Edwards, Valerie Foushee, Joyce Krawiec, Louis Pate, Ron Rabin, Erica Smith-Ingram, Jeff Tarte, Jerry Tillman, Joyce WaddellFinance:Chairs: Andrew Brock, Jerry Tillman, Tommy TuckerMembers: Chad Barefoot, Tamara Barringer, Dan Bishop, Harry Brown, Dan Blue, Ben Clark, David Curtis, Warren Daniel, Don Davis, Jim Davis, Kathy Harrington, Ralph Hise, Brent Jackson, Joyce Krawiec, Floyd McKissick, Bill Rabon, Gladys Robinson, Joyce Waddell, Trudy Wade, Andy WellsHealth Care: Chairs: Ralph Hise, Joyce Krawiec, Louis PateMembers: Deanna Ballard, Dan Bishop, David Curtis, Don Davis, Jim Davis, Chuck Edwards, Valerie Foushee, Kathy Harrington, Rick Horner, Paul Lowe, Paul Newton, Gladys Robinson, Jeff Tarte, Tommy Tucker, Andy WellsState and Local Government:Chairs: John Alexander, Ron Rabin, Jeff TarteMembers: Deanna Ballard, Tamara Barringer, Danny Britt, Jay Chaudhuri, Bill Cook, David Curtis, Chuck Edwards, Valerie Foushee, Rick Horner, Jeff Jackson, Michael Lee, Tom McInnis, Norman Sanderson, Mike Woodard Transportation:Chairs: Jim Davis, Tom McInnisMembers: John Alexander, Deanna Ballard, Danny Britt, Warren Daniel, Cathy Dunn, Joel Ford, Rick Gunn, Kathy Harrington, Joyce Krawiec, Wesley Meredith, Bill Rabon, Shirley Randleman, Terry Van Duyn, Joyce Waddell, Mike WoodardLast week the General Assembly convened for a day to elect the chambers’ leadership before the new session.