Governors Awards for Excellence honors go to 16 state employees

The Executive Mansion in Raleigh houses N.C. Governor Roy Cooper, whose veto of the state budget was overridden by the legislature this week. FILE North State Journal.

RALEIGH — This year’s Governor’s Awards for Excellence will go to sixteen state employees for their service to the state and the citizens of N.C. The highest honor a state employee can receive, 118 people were nominated. “Their passion for public service helps improve the quality of life for those who choose to live, work and raise families in North Carolina,” said Governor McCrory. “These state employees make selfless sacrifices to improve the lives of others… provide great customer service… and bring innovative solutions to some of government’s toughest challenges.”Next week the honorees will be honored in a luncheon at the NC Museum of History in Raleigh. “The winners are truly exceptional,” said Paula Woodhouse, Interim Director of the Office of State Human Resources. “They went above and beyond their daily responsibilities to make a meaningful and enduring differences in their communities.”The 2016 Governor’s Awards for Excellence honorees are:CUSTOMER SERVICEDr. Angela B. Smith – Health and Human ServicesRobert Walker – University of North Carolina — GreensboroEFFICIENCY & INNOVATIONTerry Kuhn – Natural and Cultural ResourcesLiani Yirka – Natural and Cultural ResourcesHUMAN RELATIONSTeresa Beasley – Wildlife Resources CommissionDavid Descourouez – Wildlife Resources CommissionIsaac Hannah – Wildlife Resources CommissionGlen Webb – Public SafetyOUTSTANDING STATE GOVERNMENT SERVICELebra Nance – University of North Carolina – CharlotteColonel (Ret.) Edward Timmons – Public SafetyPUBLIC SERVICETaWanna Archia – University of North Carolina School of the ArtsWilliam E. Hemphill – Public SafetySAFETY & HEROISMJonathan Gouge – Public SafetyJay Mozingo – TransportationLindsay Recchie – North Carolina State UniversityGeorge Revels – Agriculture & Consumer Services